Avoid scams

There aren’t really any helpful, comprehensive YouTube video clips on current scams or how to deal with online scams effectively. It is something we need to constantly monitor and we need sound and good information. We are online. We are targets. The world does fight back and we can manage it but we need to know how to do that effectively and what to look out for.

GMail and Yahoo mail seem to protect me the best from scams and spam and so with those email accounts it is never really a problem. A lot of scams and spam arrive by email. Some email clients block those emails really well.

Facebook is very helpful because friends share the latest scams and if you subscribe to the police feed then the police always keep you updated on the sorts of scams and spam to look out for.

On my phone I only answer numbers I know. If I am caught out by accident I end the call. Do I think I am going to miss an important call? No. Anyone who is going to call me has their number in my contacts list. If it is a new organisation or person I put their number in my list. I am quite frank about not answering calls if I don’t know the number. I have that conversation. Most organisations will have details of my email and home address and they know they have multiple ways of contacting me. My financial organisation and my isp have both been really effective at helping me avoid scams and spam by allowing and using multiple contact modes. If important things are happening then I get a direct number or contact from them as they understand my need to avoid scams and spam calls.

My phone has a virus checker which also blocks cold calls. It is not perfect and lets a few through. Phone apps need to be looked at carefully. Mine is pretty good but a couple of times it has cut off bone fide callers as well and I have had to ring back very apologetic! I don’t apologise, though, for protecting myself from this technology scam scourge and I think that’s the point. Be honest, be alert and be prepared to take the necessary steps to protect yourself.

The River Parish Council has a good print out to help you look at scam protection .

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission has some sound help with regards to scam watching.

ASIC also gives you some good advice and a list of companies not to deal with.

Seaford Spinners and Weavers

Textile arts and crafts. Hand spinning. Weaving. Felting. Sustainability

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

