The case of the Twitter edit function

twitter impressionsOh what a tangled web we have woven with social media. Instagram lets you edit as does Facebook but not Twitter. Three years ago they were supposed to be creating a limited edit function but still there isn’t one and still I can make myself look like a prize twit because I cannot correct a typo or malfunctioning link. I have to delete the tweet and put up a new one or quote the tweet. If I delete it , it means I would lose the retweets and likes I may have gathered and that can happen so quickly on some tweets. The logic is that Twitter can send out viral tweets and if it is misinformation then the best option is for the tweeter to delete that post. It has caused a lot of heartache when people or organisations have put out incorrect information. The impact can be a lifechanger  in a bad way for some. Twitter is also used by opportunistic advertisers who might use the edit function to change a good tweet which is gathering momentum into advertising for something.  Quora has some interesting responses to the twitter lack of edit position. I quote my tweet if I want to correct an error so then the original tweet and the quoted tweet are gathering impressions. quotetweetThere is a belief that any tweet has a short life span and so it’s better to delete and start again or quote the tweet so that it just goes back into the new stream of tweets. I guess Facebook and Instagram do not have the same time turnover and short life of information. I still think it should be possible to correct spelling errors or links. How hard the algorithm is for that I cannot say. I am just asking!

Leave a Reply

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

she's a seeker

It's never too late to seek.

