Hijacking my timeline

social-media-engagement-marketingthink-com-gerrymoran-e1414508453828I wrote the post below in June this year and now again I am feeling the need to voice an opinion about how entitled others seem to feel that my timeline is theirs to hijack. Currently there is a pressure in social media to subjugate yourself to all and everything which mainstream media and others publish. The argument goes along the lines that if you do not subject yourself to their views then you are being blinkered, narrow minded, in your own thought bubble and totally unchallenged. Gerry Moran has a very good infographic for questioning engagement in social media so that you can keep your thinking straight. The crux of it to me is does the content add to a great conversation? If it doesn’t, I don’t want to see it and reserve the right to mute, block, unsubscribe from or hide posts. There is so much current content which is tripe. I’d rather have quality to challenge my thinking. Nothing wrong with being discerning.

copy-paste

Image: wikiHow- 8 ways to copy and paste

My device, my internet, my fees, my timeline. That simple. It is interesting how from time to time you get a swag of more or less demands to copy and paste information to your wall or timeline or to share something. It is not persuasion. It is usually a fairly blatantly  emotive and manipulative written piece. “I know who my friends are. I know who will paste this…blah blah.” “If you care , you will share this…blah , blah.” My device, my internet, my fees, my timeline. Full stop end of story. You have your own timeline. You have your own perspective and way of looking at the world. Share it with me but do not tell me what to do and what to think.It is the Show me don’t tell me which out to be at work.  I really hate the patronising clap trap which comes up on social network feeds every so often. The obligation to share and care and the obligation to copy and paste. One of the real strengths of social media is they are  places where you do have access to all sorts of ideas and points of view. If I want to share something I do. I am quite capable of doing that all by myself. The other week I did want to share a picture which had the You have to share sentence on it. I added a comment to say I supported what was being said but others were free to make up their own mind and use their own hearts. Cyberspace is no different from real space. People try to take over your feed and timeline when they have their own patch of cyber real estate. You also get the inbox chain letters where doom will surely enter your life if you don’t copy and paste to at least 12 people.Then there are the demands to retweet.  For some people it would make them feel like they are betraying a friend. There is emotional manipulation in all of this. One day the internet will work out that people can think for themselves. In the meantime My device, my internet, my fees, my timeline.

Leave a Reply

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

Pilgrimage of the Word - We are From and To the Word "Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

