Verbal vs visual memory

I’ll let you do the test in this video and see how you go. Good little test for students too so they can see how they remember things. There are then a number of suggestions as to how you improve your memory. It is important to know how you take in information and it is important to be able to retain the information you want. I have had an interesting experience this week because I am actually reading a paper copy of a novel. It has been odd because as I look at the page my brain seems to be wanting to process other things. The things which you filter out as you read on a tablet or computer. It is also making me aware that as I read I am taking a lot of other things in on a digital screen and that the visual aspects of reading digitally are both expected and important. I have to wait for about 10 minutes so I can just focus on the printed page . I am having to slow my eyes and brain down and then I am thinking just paper and text is not really helping me but it is slowing me down. I like the aspect we have now of processing text and visuals at the same time. I take the information in better. Maybe I have rewired myself? In any case we do need to pay attention to what is happening so we can understand the problems and the benefits and so that we can design materials which improve learning and retention of information. We have considerably increased the amount of information people are processing and much of it is visual so we have to understand how that information is processed and can be processed and we also need to recognize how we are disadvantaging people when we present information in a particular way. I have now reached a stage where I need time to process hard copy print only information. Once I have had my lead in time I can absorb it as fast as I have always been able to but using technology has changed how I am processing information initially. For those brought up on technology only there will be issues when they are confronted with paper only information and that needs to be understood. It now works both ways because there are people who are disadvantaged by the amount of information which comes at them on a screen and initially they are disoriented and cannot process it. They have to be taught how to read a screen. Visual and verbal memories can be trained  to work together no matter how you absorb information. It just makes you more aware and more efficient.

Leave a Reply

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

she's a seeker

It's never too late to seek.

angelalimaq

food, travel and musings of a TV presenter.

irisgassenbauer

bleib ruhig hier

Ang and Mae

Staying Active, While Staying Home

Stepmom Warrior, LLC

Stepfamily Coach, Nicole DiLorenzo, supporting,empowering, and inspiring stepparents along their journey.

Our Homesteading Dream

Join our family as we journey towards our homesteading dream!

honeythatsok

stories we tell ourselves

John Wreford Photographer

Words and Pictures from the Middle East

