#britex #brexit

#brexitI feel for teachers going back into the classroom after the EU Referendum in Britain. We are a connected world and so we can see and feel how things are affecting others and #britex #brexit is one of those things which is having a significant emotional impact on Britain. When you walk into a classroom of 30 students whose families and friends are affected by something like that , then as a teacher, it is a real challenge. I have always adopted the business as usual approach. I start the lesson as usual , I start up the content and the involvement. Sometimes ,about 15 minutes, into the lesson I will stop and say something like ” I can’t continue today’s lesson without sparing a thought for the people affected by…”. I have always prepared myself for the questions. With access to internet resources , it is easy. With Aceh we looked a little bit about what the French (these are French lessons) were saying about Aceh or Fukushima. I would spend a few minutes on that and sometimes questions would arise and I have always been ready with more than one point of view. My bottom line has often been, “You can listen to what I am saying. You can hear what others are saying in this classroom but it is important that you go home and talk about it with your parents and families. ” My belief has always been that as a teacher I try and represent what the world is thinking. I try and reassure and give hope, always, and that we look at how the world is reacting. We are connected. We can often point students in the right direction for sound and solid information. The EU exit is a very hard one to deal with because it is cutting across cultures, history, languages and the economy. I get on with my lesson and then students know if they blurt and cannot help themselves we will stop and look at what they are saying and asking. I was teaching languages before the European Union was founded November 1, 1993, Maastricht, Netherlands. Perspective is always important because it shows that the world does go on and things are resolved or just continue to be an issue. When it is affecting students in a very personal way then the Department or school has always had a back up care plan. You can see that #britex #brexit is a tough one because even Twitter is split into #britex and #brexit and then #EURef and #BritRef are now growing stronger which is only adding to the emotional upheaval. The internet has provided so many statistics and infographics on the EU Referendum it’s an indication of how quickly we can now quantify information. The teacher’s job is a tough one, though. It requires real skill, and it is an art ,to teach and deal with upheaval at the same time. I wish the teachers in the UK well.

Leave a Reply

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

Pilgrimage of the Word - We are From and To the Word "Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

