Live TV on Ubuntu 14.04

kaffeine1Setting up Live TV on Ubuntu 14.04 didn’t quite go according to plan nor did it go easily. Now I have set it up, though , I can use MeTV or Kaffeine. I am using Kaffeine because it is currently getting  more channels and is more reliable. MeTV is stuck on Channel 9 and that is it. I cannot change the channel at this point in time. I can’t scan either. So Kaffeine it is and it is a very easy to get along with programme. On Linux Mint and Ubuntu 10 I have only ever plugged in my stick and typed

sudo apt-get install libusb-dev

into Terminal and the TV stick has worked.

metvWith Ubuntu 14.04 installed on my Dell Studio 1558 it hasn’t been so straightforward. I started searching the Net. Firstly, I followed the instructions here by wolfmann and installed Kaffeine and MeTV via Terminal. He gives very clear instructions as to how Kaffeine works. For me Autoscan did not work. In the end I had to set it to au-Adelaide which is on the same dropdown menu. Both MeTV and Kaffeine worked for about a minute and that was it. MeTV had a Read Timeout. Kaffeine was telling me it could not find my device when clearly it was there.

I then followed the code here on the Ubuntu Wiki site. I was building a media library and I could see the stuff for my TV stick running through Terminal so I was hopeful. This was a really interesting experience and I watched the whole lot – to check what was happening and to work out what the code was doing. Fascinating. It does take a while to build the library so I played on my iPad!

I rebooted. Still nothing. My TV stick came with a little USB extension cable and I have always used that. Not now. I worked out I need to plug the DVB-T stick directly into the USB port. Since then I can can access Kaffeine and MeTV and I just need to work through the issues. I am sticking with Kaffeine. It is set up well, easy to operate and comes with some useful features. It is a multimedia programme so you can play other media as well. It’s odd that MeTV is picking up Channel 9 but Kaffeine isn’t. I am doing the usual of just playing TV on my laptop to help the system sort itself out. Some of this may well be hardware issues. I have had more that sufficient support which I could follow from the Ubuntu community.

Leave a Reply

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

Pilgrimage of the Word - We are From and To the Word "Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

