How’s the Raspberry Pi 2?

Desktop Ubuntu MateThe Raspberry Pi is an educational device and it certainly does all it can to make you learn. There are some things you just can’t do. There are some things you have to work at to do and then there are things you don’t know and you have to find out. It runs on ARM so not everything works according to a familiar version of Linux Mint or Ubuntu. My first major problem with both Debian Jessie and Ubuntu Mate was they would only take up 4GB of the SD card. No more and that was that. It meant I was getting out of space messages very soon into using either operating system. I’d hardly done anything! So I went looking. I tried the disk manager in Windows and an open source partition manager , Partition Guru , and they could do nothing about the huge amount of unallocated space. I downloaded an iso of the live version of Gparted and no, it was not going to burn to disc with or without an iso burner. With Ubuntu Mate I tried the coding on the raspberry pi site so I could extend the partition to include the unallocated space – 11.9 GB of it! Epic fail on that one. When I rebooted in the anticipation of writing the last line of code my poor little Pi went into  kernel panic mode. I reimaged the Raspian stuff back to the factory settings ,so to speak, and then the Ubuntu Mate I reimaged as I had done it originally. Both SDs I put into my old Compaq with Linux Maya and Gparted. I changed the size of the partitions and added the unallocated space. It’s astounding that GParted is no longer freely available. It is acknowledged as one of the best partition managers there is. It is. No further discussion needed. The Debian SD card refuses to boot. I’ll fix that later. Much later.  The Ubuntu Mate has not only booted, it has updated, allowed me to download gimp, put on quite a few files and get my calendar up to date. The updates have made it look more like Linux Mint Olivia. I have installed the Green Submarine theme and I love the Ubuntu logo screen saver. Very effective. It is running on ARM so there are some issues. It doesn’t play aiff, flv or video on mp4 files. It plays mp3 sound and sound on mp4s. All of this may or may not get sorted out in time. It doesn’t play flash, but neither does my iPad. It plays online videos . It doesn’t like media rich pages like Jamendo. Everything else is fine. I tried to use Vivaldi because that runs really well on Linux. There isn’t an ARM version as yet. Firefox is clumsy by comparison. I can do office type things easily and am writing this blog post on my Raspberry Pi. disk usageMy plan now is to visit the Raspberry Pi site and have a good look at what they recommend. I am also going to look at the Ubuntu Mate site and have already signed up for disk usage terminaltheir newsletter. The Ubuntu community has done a fantastic job on this OS. I connected my 16BG flash drive and the thing installed and showed me my files just about immediately.My flash drive  is full of files. That was great. Ubuntu Mate also boots up really fast and shuts down really fast. I am really happy with how much I have learned and know I shall continue to learn. I shall just keep adventuring and find out what to do next.

Leave a Reply

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

Pilgrimage of the Word - We are From and To the Word "Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

