Get over the sound of your voice

When we are asking teachers to make videos for a flipped classroom we are asking them to confront something which is common – the dislike of the sound of their own voice. This is sufficient to create a major block in producing these videos competently or even comfortably. Cyberspace’s answer to that is – Get over it! That simple. Just do it and get over it. You need tips and tricks, though. When you confront a roadblock to learning and productivity you need the stepping stones to get you onto solid ground. Shannon Hernandez (@ShanJHernandez) was an English teacher. He knows what it’s like in a classroom. He knows that vocal confidence is something you can work on  which is invaluable and, as an ex-teacher, he knows how to get you to move forward. His site Shannon J. Hernandez gives ideas and support for podcasts ,recordings and other things digital. He works in radio and he has worked on his voice so that it now is something which allows him to go online and help others. As I said previously, one of my aims this year is to create much better videos. That doesn’t just happen. I have to work on the things which will get me there. One of those things is my voice. I do hate the sound of my voice on video. So Shannon suggests recording yourself into your phone regularly. He suggests listening back. You create a learning feedback loop for yourself which allows you to do something practical but then notice. I should have thought of that myself. I’m a French teacher. Languages classes are always getting students to record and playback their voices. We are always working on articulation, facial expressions, voice exercises. It took Shannon to make me notice and realise I can apply that to myself. I have watched my students become confident and capable language users because we record and play back. It will apply to me, too. My firsts steps then will be:

1. Record myself on a regular basis
2. Play back and notice what I can improve
3. Speak clearly
4. Focus on the message
5. Use headphones

I can do that!

One Response

  1. […] I wanted to do was practise recording my voice so I could get over the sound of it. It’s a recommendation which is working well. I have had some good feedback from listening to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

Seaford Spinners and Weavers

Textile arts and crafts. Hand spinning. Weaving. Felting. Sustainability

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

