aitsl Reflection on Practice Tool

reflection on practiceThe new aitsl Reflection of Practice Tool is fresh out of the box and it is good that aitsl has put it out there so we can use it, work with it and give feedback so they can go away and bring us a better version. It differs from the SAT (self assessment tool) in that it works directly with the professional standards and you rate yourself against them rather than answering the series of random questions which the SAT came up with . Since it addresses the standards directly , I prefer it. I have been through various versions of assessment with SAT and it does look at your practice. My latest assessment put me at graduate level in assessment. I must have gone mighty wrong to be graduate level after 42 years in the classroom and working as a regional and state moderator along with all  the other things I have done and achieved. Have I totally lost contact? Have I not kept currency in 40 years? Is all that peer assessment I have been doing with my year 9s irrelevant? The same thing has come up in this Reflection on Practice Tool. If I asked for feedback, would people tell me I have not moved with the times and that a lot has changed in my 42 years in a classroom and it has all passed me by? It is me? Is it them? Is it the tool? What is it? Can I not assess myself properly? Already there are plenty of things I can follow up. Already there are plenty of things to look at and consider to get to the bottom of this assessment. I always teach my students to look at the data which comes back about them and to think long and hard about what it might mean, how it could be inaccurate and to formulate logical arguments to ensure the data is read properly. In a professional standards context, my self reflection and my self assessment always bring up matters which I can discuss and consider. To be honest, it doesn’t matter if it is accurate or not accurate. It is the conversations with colleagues and the conversations in a professional setting which set the picture straight. Both of these tools provide feedback. Both of them set up a framework for thought and discussion. The Reflection on Practice tool can be downloaded and used offline and so you have a copy to use and refer to whether you have internet access or not. It gives spaces to fill in your evidence. I find this one more suitable because it is directly connected to the standards. Try it for yourself and see what you think.

Leave a Reply

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

she's a seeker

It's never too late to seek.

