Layer the learning

edmettle I am starting to get the benefit of using Edmettle. It has taken a while because I could not start it at the beginning of the year with my year 9s for various reasons, not the least of which being they were very attached to Twiducate, the older version of Edmettle. This week we have gained some good value out of Edmettle. I have used it to practise little bits of French we have been working on. I have used it to get feedback about the assignments we have been doing. I have used it to endorse my students and they have used it to endorse each other. I have also used it to canvas ideas about what they would like to do for their Term 4 project so it is not just about me and what I want them to do. Their ideas were good and I have now packaged a recommendation to take back to them which they can then comment on. This is the class which refined and worked with me on creating the best group assessment protocol and rubrics ever. The advantage of a site like Edmettle is that every student has a voice. No one is left out of any discussion and everyone has a say. The heartening thing about when I asked them to endorse the 3 others in their group for the assessments we have been doing is the students were very succinct and direct about the other student’s strengths. They were also very mindful of constructive comment. All my students now are starting to get validation for their learning both from me and their peers. I could add another layer with the parents but am not sure that we are ready for that just yet. In my experience from blogging, parents are extremely helpful and positive online with learning activities and ideas. We now have what we have in class and then the students have a genuine connection with each other and an image of themselves as learners. I like what Edmettle is doing to layer the learning and my students seem to be very happy with it now.  It is a really good way to promote and support personalised learning.

One Response

  1. […] done and achieved. Have I totally lost contact? Have I not kept currency in 40 years? Is all that peer assessment I have been doing with my year 9s irrelevant? The same thing has come up in this Reflection on […]

Leave a Reply

she's a seeker

It's never too late to seek.

angelalimaq

food, travel and musings of a TV presenter.

irisgassenbauer

bleib ruhig hier

Ang and Mae

Staying Active, While Staying Home

Stepmom Warrior, LLC

Stepfamily Coach supporting,empowering, and inspiring stepparents along their journey.

Our Homesteading Dream

Join our family as we journey towards our homesteading dream!

honeythatsok

stories we tell ourselves

John Wreford Photographer

Words and Pictures from the Middle East

When Am With You... Whitney Ibe Blog!

Inspirational,Motivational, Lifestyle, Daily Living, Positivity, Religion

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Living the dream... in Paris, France

Living the dream and the reality that goes along with it... The good, the bad & the everyday things that make life interesting in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Believe in dreams & fear not the realization of them… for anything is possible. Bellanda ®

Tune Up Success

Redesign Your Life

this tiny blue house

striving to live simply, mindfully and intentionally.

seenu625

love nature, and all things creative

