Baby steps coding

reminderAny serious coder will laugh but that’s okay. They would also realise it has taken me plenty of effort and dedication to get to this first useful step in coding. I have been sitting here absorbing all my coding lessons and finally the cogs are starting to work, the penny has dropped and I can actually see my way clear to doing some things by myself without just copying or following instructions. That, though, is a basic lesson in coding. Don’t hurry. Don’t try to skip over things, lean heavily on those who know, do as you are told and follow instructions! Don’t expect to know what you are doing until the light comes on.Then…you get to the moment where you can do something by yourself. Something practical and useful. You can actually transfer knowledge and apply it. I have understood 95% of what I have been learning. I have had to go back over things and I have had to come back to very disciplined thinking. Now, apart from doing the things I copy, I can now think for myself and apply some knowledge. We really need to look at computer literacy in a hard headed way to sort out what it means to be computer literate, especially if we plan to teach coding. So, I can now quickly make myself a desktop text file with text in it.

How did I do this?

1. Press Windows x
2. Select Command Prompt from the menu which pops up.
3.Mine comes up with C:\Users\CathyW>…yours will come up with your user name
4. At the > type cd Desktop and press enter
5. It will now say C:\Users \CathyW\Desktop>
6. At the > type echo Whatever you want to write as text here >reminder.txt and press enter
7. You can call it happy.txt, cathy.txt…whatever you want.

You will now have a file on your desktop with what you wrote. For me it is a reminder.txt and could have been any other type of text file like a doc. It means I can write myself a quick note, get some ideas down quickly, create a file to work on later. I don’t  have to wait for software or sites to load. Easy!

Leave a Reply

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

she's a seeker

It's never too late to seek.

