A view from the top

Or on high. Not all students speak English as a first language and so I have tried to use two common expressions which mean the same. I made this video to be part of our flipped classroom discovery learning this year. As I explained before, there are plenty of things for French, which is my current subject area and so I thought to put my English teacher hat on and see how I would approach that from a digital perspective. A view from the top/on high was a homework exercise which I used to set as an Englsih teacher and the students always loved it. I would have to use class time to explain what I meant and what I was looking for. It has to be very descriptive so the reader can easily imagine what the person is looking down upon. Students would walk up to favourite place where they had a good view, or sit on top of a ladder (safely) or a chest of drawers. They loved the challenge of finding the vantage point. Now, with technology, I can show them the sorts of things they could view and they could use their own images or images from the internet to inspire their writing. Depending on the class, I could ask for more than 250 words. We’d look at how they had described their views and how we could make them even better. With laptops they could work in little groups and show each other the views, read the description and then get feedback. I’d take it further and get them to make a video presentation to show the difference between written and visual literacy. Having made this I realised it is so handy as a teacher to have banks of eletronic resources. It helps fill gaps if teachers are away. It takes the strain off your voice. It means you can use class time to explore and expand ideas and skills. I enjoyed making this. It made me focus on what I was trying to do and I was learning more about Pinnacle Studio as I went but I was also working across devices which made it more interesting and challenging for me. Technology forces you to problem solve and create at the same time. It forces you to work in a multidisciplinary way and it makes you far more particular about thinking content out.

One Response

  1. […] A view from the top […]

Leave a Reply

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

