2015 is pretty amazing!

kaizen

Image: KaiZen mind and start up

daily-kaizen

Image: learningrebels.com

If this is the connected world, if this is teaching , if this is 2015, it is pretty amazing. I put my post up yesterday about doing things in little steps so you look at the improvements at each stage and can get things finished properly. The story , now , of this post is internet magic. It is the lesson of the internet – create content, share, gain feedback and improve. At the end of last year I was listening to a podcast in French by Johann from françaisauthentique where he was talking, amongst other things about “l’esprit Kaizen” and was explaining what that meant. Johann also has a firm commitment to self-development so his podcasts maintain my French and encourage me personally. I went to school and asked the Japanese teacher what Kaizen meant and he told me what was in the picture left – it was a good improvement but in small steps. As I explained yesterday I used it to get my unfinished sewing projects completed and have since applied it to things I want to be able to get done but can’t see my way clear to achieving them unless I commit to an approach whereby I look at what I want to achieve, decide where to start and then put in small amounts of time to complete something a small bit at a time but well. I am making good change. I am trying to improve how I do things so I enjoy them and get value out of them. In the KaiZen Mind and start up visualisation is explained as one of the key stepping stones. If you make good small changes then you can see clearly what the next step is. You visualise that well because your mind is not swamped with all the other thoughts of how, when , why, what if…blah blah. All the self-defeating thoughts. Shannon Tipton articulates really well on her blog Learning Rebels the value of it as a teacher. So, I was blogging about my KaiZen approach yesterday and the post was picked up and published in a German paper.li : JFTOP.ch – Kaizen / Lean by Frederic Jordan . Kaizen is a concept which has been used in manufacturing and the car industry in particular to create an attitude of continuous development. Wikipedia explains it as : Kaizen is a daily process, the purpose of which goes beyond simple productivity improvement. It is also a process that, when done correctly, humanizes the workplace, eliminates overly hard work (“muri“), and teaches people how to perform experiments on their work using the scientific method and how to learn to spot and eliminate waste in business processes.

I could go back into school today and tell the Japanese teacher that all this stuff I had been doing from his explanation and help with Kaizen had come from my French podcast, through his Japanese cultural and linguistic knowledge, through the English on my blog to a German paper.li. This is the internet. We go across languages and cultures and we arrive in the wonderful world of connected learning . This is 2015.

Leave a Reply

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

she's a seeker

It's never too late to seek.

angelalimaq

food, travel and musings of a TV presenter.

irisgassenbauer

bleib ruhig hier

Ang and Mae

Staying Active, While Staying Home

Stepmom Warrior, LLC

Certified Stepfamily Coach, Nicole DiLorenzo, supporting,empowering, and inspiring stepparents along their journey.

