One step at a time

view from the top I can’t say I have really appreciated the value and importance of doing things one step at a time so that I can complete something properly. Yes, I have broken things down and worked on bits and isn’t that what I do for my students with the Weekly Tasks Sheet because they like it better that way? I break bigger tasks down so that each week they know what to do so they can complete a packed assessment plan or a demanding project. I have seen what they can do with that. I can see that the work is better and I can see, that inspite of my best efforts , there are always a few who leave it until the last minute. When you break things into small steps then those who try and complete it quickly in a short time show up quite clearly. They can see it too and so every time you do that, you gain more students who will put the time in. In the last Christmas holidays I learnt about the Japanese notion of Kai Zen – completing something in tiny steps. I applied it to a mountain of sewing projects I had and could not believe how they were being completed and looked beautiful. I had thought each step out. I had applied myself for each step. It meant each step had more value than if I had broken it down into steps and just done it. There is a difference. Start here, go to that, do this bit, do that bit. It is not the same as starting, thinking that start up well and then, as you are working on that knowing what the next step is. You then focus on the next step. It is about focus, mindfulness, positive mindset and the whole project is much better thought out. I am using this approach to complete a video for Flipped Learning. I enjoyed finding the pictures, then the videos. I realised as I was setting them up in the timeline of my video programme I could use Elevator App to do some transitioning in the video. I have yet to do that, but I’ll do that one film clip at a time. 100% focus. I have  to decide as well  about whether I use voice overs or music or both. As you work in a Kai Zen way you appreciate each element of a project and that it has its own value. You then also understand the value of chunking work, breaking assignments down and packaging work in a way so that the elements of a task have their own vital importance as you build a whole.

One Response

  1. […] teaching , if this is 2015, it is pretty amazing. I put my post up yesterday about doing things in little steps so you look at the improvements at each stage and can get things finished properly. The story , now […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

News and facts, around the Globe

new and facts around the 🌐 globe

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

Seaford Spinners and Weavers

Textile arts and crafts. Hand spinning. Weaving. Felting. Sustainability

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

