Teaching backwards

learning backwards Image: Free Ppt Templates
When I want to lift up the learning and achievement in my students I teach backwards. With technology and blogging that has become a lot easier because I can get exactly what I need at each step along the way , I can get feedback in class and then look at the learning on their blogs. When you look at student blogs you can see each student is quite different as they process information in their own individual way. It really makes you appreciate the value of differentiation. I blogged about how my year 9s had wanted to see what I meant when I asked them to make up a planet. I took that lesson on board from them and now, when I want my year 10s to advertise Adelaide in French , I thought, well, the best thing I can do is show them French people advertising Australia to their own people. I found two vloggers who were approaching it differently. One uses his iPhone and creates very popular videos of his road trips which are quite spontaneous and funny. The other one has a polished approach and sets up videos and interviews and has roadtripped himself around the world this way and it is now his job. That in itself opened the eyes of my Year 10s. They found it interesting to think French people did this. I could then show the Xavier by bike blog – Don’t dream your life, just live your dreams. Xavier did a bike road trip from Lille to Dubai and blogged about his adventure, with videos in French and English. They could understand bits and pieces of the videos but could see how French people advertise Australia to their own people. We then fed in some vocabulary, expressions and ideas for presentations. As they sorted out their own thoughts on that, I constructed my own brochure on the board as they looked around for what they thought they needed. It isn’t really about connecting the dots. Students are in the internet age. They have a lot of packets of information and ideas in their heads. It’s more an atomic approach to learning where you get the electrons and neutrons to fly around the nucleus of the core learning to create something structured and meaningful. I want my year 10s to produce an advertising text for Adelaide and then a one minute video in French to advertise Adelaide. As we go along I can feed in more vocabulary and expressions, we can look at the videos again and they will be able to see they are achieving something valuable. We have started with shop recommendations. In both of the videos they looked at what our shops were  like and we have done plenty of shopping vocabulary and practice so it’s a good place to start. educereEducation comes from the latin educere. I am a firm believer in leading them out and up.

Leave a Reply

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

Pilgrimage of the Word - We are From and To the Word "Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

