Integrating technology into the classroom

integrate - definitionThis whole blog is about integrating technology into a classroom and education and how to do it – the tools, the techniques, the thought processes. It is a lifestyle choice! I have never thought in terms of integrating technology into my classroom. I have just thought of using it and finding out how to create good teaching and learning with any technology I have been offered: OHPs, data recording machines; BBC computers,video machines , PCs and now IWBs, smart phones, iPads and laptops. What does integrating mean, though? I looked it up on the Merriam-Webster site to see if that was what I was doing since it is actually one of our professional standards..

1. to form, coordinate, or blend into a functioning or unified whole : unite
Certainly have worked hard on that. I made a decision when we got laptops to get rid of pens and paper to save the planet and to force myself to rethink everything in terms of technology. A pot of pens, a white board pen, a wad of paper and sets of  worksheets are in my classroom incase of long term power outages. The more I have used this approach the more everything hangs together smoothly in a technological way.By blogging about it , I have given myself the opportunity to think things out and reflect on what I have been doing and then get peer support and review. I just use technology and my students just use it and we work together to solve problems since that is part of using technology.
2. to find the integral of (as a function or equation)
Not relevant.
3a. to unite with something else
Yes! I have united technology with everything I do and think in a classroom. I have united it with the curriculum, the daily routine, the assessment processes and performance standards. I have also used it to unite more strongly with my students to create a feedback loop so I can grow their learning and they, in turn, can grow my teaching.
3b to incorporate into a larger unit
I have incorporated it into the classroom and curriculum delivery and everything now has an electronic version and approach. It is fundamental to my teaching and fundamental to my development as a teacher because I have been able to incorporate myself far more effectively into national and global connections. Incorporation is about connectivity with technology.
4a. to end the segregation of and bring into equal membership in society or an organization
4b desegregate
Technology is not something to be viewed as an extra or an event. It is daily living, daily routine, daily functionality and so technology in my life and my classroom is not special or a thing. It’s just normal. In order for it not to be different you have to find the things which suit your needs and the needs of your students – the videos, the tools, the approaches, the websites, the online tools , sites and apps.

Here are 50 ways of integrating technology into your classroom.

Leave a Reply

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

Pilgrimage of the Word - We are From and To the Word "Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

