Why should teachers blog?

Why teachers should blogI have to say I find it very odd coming here to tell you why teachers should blog when I have seriously blogged as a teacher for 8 years and cannot believe how much it has added to me and my classroom. I have had teachers tell me they wouldn’t blog because their things are their things and they wouldn’t want to share them. I have never known what to say other than I see it quite differently and I do. I do because I blog. Everything I think and do with regard to teaching is blogged. I laugh when I find myself going through a school day and wondering if something is blogworthy or not. I walk around school with a whole global network behind me and  know  that while I am teaching this network is busy connecting with what I have said or done so I can move to the next stage. My blogs have been an invaluable safeguard in a technological approach to ensure my work is backed up and preserved. I can’t always rely on my device or computer to come up with the goods. I also know if I ever left everything at home my resources are there on the net and I just have to borrow a device or do without and get students to use theirs. I am not lugging folders around, I am not searching through endless bits of paper and filing cabinets to find the thing for my lesson. It has been part of my plan to create a paperless classroom because I am so sick of clutter and killing trees. When I share everything I say or do I get a lot of reaction and feedback. Facebook is one of the places which shares my blog posts the most and yet I do not connect my Facebook account to my blogs. I advertise my blogs through Twitter always and LinkedIn and Pinterest sometimes. I discovered Pinterest because of blogging. How could I have missed it? It is a brilliant classroom resource. I blog about content and know that so much better because I have been blogging. I have a much deeper appreciation of my subject matter because others have come in and joined me and offered me pathways and resources.One of my blogs started initially because a student teacher told me there was nowhere to find good resources for French like the ones I had. My French blog is for me , my students and equally serves the purpose of getting others to find good quality resources for teaching French.  I  also blog about what I am required to do by way of professional standards and requirements. I look at these things in blog posts. I understand what the requirements and expectations are far better because I have deconstructed them in blog posts and used them as teaching challenges. There is this constant flow of energy and ideas because I blog. One thing leads to another. One link leads to another. One visitor leads to another. It grows exponentially and my journey goes and grows so that I constantly find myself enthused and  invigorated. I am never at a loss. Never thwarted . Never frustrated. I can blog all about it and writing is very therapeutic. When you are aware there is a global audience it forces you to be less flouncy and more pragmatic in your approach and I have found the web has always resolved my issues when I find I cannot push through them myself. I share and get so much more back. It means , as a teacher, I am constantly refreshed and enthused. I am connected with other teachers, professionals and experts from all over the world and the richness of their thoughts and ideas comes to me because I blog. I can then take all of that magic into my classroom. Why wouldn’t you blog?

One Response

  1. […] information and practical, contextual help. He is doing what I wrote yesterday in my post as to why teachers should blog. He is sharing all he has learnt and knows and you can see just how strong he is as a leader in an […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

Seaford Spinners and Weavers

Textile arts and crafts. Hand spinning. Weaving. Felting. Sustainability

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

