We weren’t downloaded

This clip by jiayong puts  things into perspective. Technology provides a whole new way of thinking about teaching and learning. We are in the real world making connections with real people but so many of us now have the capacity to engage online and have a virtual world which can seem limitless. I have students who build computers and learnt that from the internet. I have students with YouTube channels who promote their talents. I have students who write and publish their own books. Those are the ones I know about. Should I know what sorts of online success students are having? Is it something I could incorporate into my teaching and learning programmes? I know from getting my students to blog they can better understand the value of accumulating knowledge across 2 years and seeing how they have grown. They can also connect with each other and members of their community. It then becomes exciting for them when they realise that their blog can connect with the wider world and that people out here will support them positively in their learning. We do have to teach them how to live in the real world but benefit from the opportunities provided to them by the virtual world and connectivity is part of that. Sharing and getting feedback. I have had to teach students how to email me work or send me messages or work over the learner management system. With younger students I have to keep refreshing the screen to show them their work is uploaded onto the learner management system. In lots of ways they trust technology less than older students and older people…and in this case it is one year older! Year 8s are quite different form year 9s. It is also because Year 8s love seeing technology at work. The video makes you think about whether you are moving with the times, so to speak, and whether adaptability is part of your everyday life. Things are changing quickly and so adapting is becoming a very necessary skill and much of that is to do with knowing how to demonstrate your growth in learning through technology and also knowing how to recycle digital files and knowledge into new platforms and approaches. I have files from back in the early 90s but I can easily upgrade that information into a 2014 format when I want to. I am never stuck with a jaded and passé look. Students need to learn to save work so that they can grow it in future years. We haven’t really worked on a concept for doing that and we need to.

Leave a Reply

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

Pilgrimage of the Word - We are From and To the Word "Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

