Have you got your paperless plan yet?

This is the last post I’ll do for now on the paperless classroom. We can stop using a million sheets of paper a year in our school. We can stop killing 9000 trees a year across a 1000 schools. We can stop putting 30 000 kg of carbon into the air across a thousand schools. We can stop lugging books around. We can stop panicking because the glue sticks are dry or the scissors are blunt or missing. We can stop cluttering our homes and offices with wads of paper and cardboard. We can have space and air and a back and arms which don’t hurt. We can teach anywhere because we just need a board and a connection. We can mark anywhere and don’t always need a wifi connection for that. My year 9s actually negotiated that they would hand in their work on THE USB. I have a special USB for them and they love coming to get THE USB off my desk. I can mark that work wherever I want.  I don’t find marking electronically takes longer. I thought it did but I did actually do test runs on that and compared equivalent “piles” of marking tasks. Initially you are not so adept at electronic marking and you have to factor that in. For senior students I like the comment feature on Word or a pdf doc or I highlight errors/dubious thinking in a different colour. My home doesn’t change anymore during intense marking phases. Nor does my desk get swamped but piles of books and papers. Students get a chance to produce different sorts of assignments and they like that. I get to mark movies, slide presentations, newsletters, images with text and not just writing on a blank sheet. I can get feedback from all my students so I hear all their thoughts and voices. In that sense student input is far more equitable and representative. Get your plan together. There is some good help on YouTube and on the Net. Do the classic set yourself goals approach and work on it one step at a time. It is more than just not using paper. It is a different approach and if you change yourself over gradually you will appreciate the implications of the difference. You are a teacher. You can see the teaching possibilities and opportunities in  anything.

One Response

  1. […] paper and filing cabinets to find the thing for my lesson. It has been part of my plan to create a paperless classroom because I am so sick of clutter and killing trees. When I share everything I say or do I get a lot […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

Seaford Spinners and Weavers

Textile arts and crafts. Hand spinning. Weaving. Felting. Sustainability

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

