Australian Professional Standards for Teachers

professional standards Given a lifetime of teaching I ought to know what I am doing and what I am capable of. I am working on a Powerpoint of the professional standards because I need to ensure I have currency. As time goes by you have to ensure you are up to date and in tune with your approach. The Professional Standards we have are a way of ensuring that since , given the layout, they can be updated as needed but as they stand they are solid indicators of performance and achievement. My focus is also to ensure I can meet the standards using technology. What I plan to do is take an indicator from each of the sections to calibrate myself. I want to test that what I am assuming about myself and the standards is actually what is occurring. Assumption can get you into a lot of trouble and on the wrong track so it is important to stick to an objective way of looking at your own performance. With respect to the standards, and because I am a classroom teacher now , then I probably have to be at the Highly Accomplished level. I have been in leadership positions so I ought to be able to fit into the Lead teacher category sometimes at least. On 1.1 I think I fit between both of them. I have worked on having a flexible repertoire for using technology in a classroom so that I can differentiate the curriculum and manage content delivery for a wide range of students and their learning styles. I use what I have learnt to share with other teachers both at school and on my blogs. I have so many strategies now for using technology in a classroom I am both a good resource and a pioneer.Sharing all this knowledge means I also have the capacity to attract new knowledge in this area and become someone whom others will share their ideas with because they know I am interested and will listen. That perhaps puts me more in the Lead category for this one. Having that information before me on a slide means I can think it through better rather than just guessing and assuming. In a professional conversation I’d be looking to have my decisions discussed so I can grow further and maybe even have a different perspective on what I am doing and thinking. To me this is a dynamic process not a static one. it ought not be a snapshot but looking through the performance standard lens to see what can be improved, changed, polished, maintained…

Leave a Reply

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

