Transfer a file from one device to another

file transfer Yesterday, I had a student chasing me down the corridor. “Mrs. Woods, Mrs. Woods, can you pleeeeeeeeeeze get my file off my USB onto my iPad. I have tried syncing it and it won’t work. I tried emailing it and the file was too big. I need it for our talk.” I was impressed with how organised he had been to be ready this early and also impressed he had tried to solve the problem himself. Shifting files to a device or one device to another is something which seems to block people on a regular basis. I generally use bluetooth and cloud storage as my preferred options. Direct connection is easy from computer to computer but devices can often thwart a file transfer and what works at home may not necessarily work on a network. Basically, there are these options:

1.Wired connection
2.Syncing device
3.Bluetooth
4.Airdrop (iDevices)
5.Cloud storage
6.Email

Yesterday it took me a minute to load his file on my MacBook and then share it with him on OwnCloud. He was so relieved because, like anyone else , he had spent a lot of time trying to transfer the file and it is both frustrating and annoying. It is why I impress upon students using technology to share and help. Share and help. If you don’t know, ask. Someone will know. We use devices differently and so our pool of common knowledge is very rich and productive. I have been pleased my classes have naturally moved into using the best device for the purpose and then learning how to file share. Some of my year 9s took photos on their phones of the little characters they made and couldn’t transfer the file to their MacBook. A couple came to ask me for wires because they could manage the file that way. Others could email because it was a small image. I am a great believer if you show students how to make good use of their devices, they will not use them for the wrong purpose at school. The discussion about wrong purpose is so much easier because there are so many good purposes they know and use.

Leave a Reply

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

News and facts, around the Globe

new and facts around the 🌐 globe

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

Seaford Spinners and Weavers

Textile arts and crafts. Hand spinning. Weaving. Felting. Sustainability

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

