You never, never know

QR code er verbs

You, too, can learn er verbs in French!

You never know what will happen in a class using technology. It is true, like any other lesson you can rigidly control the input and sequencing of events. When you do not  , it is important to allow a natural flow of learning and discovery to occur and it will surprise you just how much you can achieve. You need to remember the pattern – create the content, share the content, get feedback, reshare the improved version. It’s how it naturally flows in a lesson with ICT. In my double lesson with Year 8s I needed to introduce the concept of verb groups and then focus on ER verbs in particular. I also needed to ensure the students were doing their bit for the languages world challenge. I could go from images of verb conjugations to using my Promethean board to explain it with custom flip charts and my own explanations with the electronic pen and then back to the slide presentation I had with all the key information. After that we got our iPads up and joined the class I had made on Showbie. Half the students picked that up really quickly and the other half got there with a bit of help from their friends. We were then ready to work on the assignment to hand in. About 15 mins into it some students realised they had no idea what we were doing and were getting muddled. I looked up a good online explanation with a video of verb endings in French with an exercise. Those who didn’t know how to do what we were doing were so happy but it was hard for them to read the URL from the board . It was very long. I cut and pasted it into Powerpoint and made it huge text. Then I went to my favourite QR code site. I made the code (left) and bingo! Some had the phone app or could get it. Some could get it on their iPads and very quickly they could share that information. They were so pleased. These year 8s really like to be actively involved in their learning and using technology to speed it up. As a teacher you just need to be able to make it all happen.

Leave a Reply

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

Pilgrimage of the Word - We are From and To the Word "Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

