Surprise classroom benefits with iPads

iPadDon’t you just hate it when your lessons keep getting interrupted? My Year 8s were having another round of immunisations. To be honest, I’d rather know they were keeping their lives healthy so I had steeled myself to the fact my double lesson was going to be a constant stream of students coming and going to get their injections. As it turned out, I could run my lesson as if nothing were happening thanks to the iPads. I can claim no genius for this idea in classroom management. It just happened and so for days like today I shall save it in my repertoire of tools for salvaging disrupted lessons. I had decided we would work on a conversation. My students are so in love with the Puppet Pals app most of them wanted to record their conversations on their iPads in Puppet Pals so we could watch them on the board. Some of them are very good at manipulating the figurines/avatars so the conversations are quite funny to watch. It meant I had to give them a bit of extra time for the recording. They were so enthusiastic about it I could not say no. It came to the time we would have to listen to the pair conversations. This is when I realised the iPads had been my best friend. I was expecting to have to listen to a number of conversations in the following lesson. No! They had recorded them!  It turned out there was at least one of every pair there and so even though some had had to go to their appointments for the immunisations I could still assess their oral skills. Using puppet pals to record their work also meant they were fully focussed and I didn’t have wriggly students worried about injections. The iPads solved a logistical problem for me and an anxiety problem for the students. We were winners all round today!

Leave a Reply

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

Seaford Spinners and Weavers

Textile arts and crafts. Hand spinning. Weaving. Felting. Sustainability

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

