Communicate learning in multiple modes

Year 8 iPad lesson Not every lesson falls into place like this one but more and more of them are because I have worked on this over 3 years. You can really use technology to build on student understanding and the iPads make it quick and easy to access files and information. When you are dealing with TeFL 4.4 you need to be able to communicate learning in multiple modes. I was looking at my board this morning and I didn’t think of TeFL, I thought – this looks so different from how I have taught before. As you personalise and connect learning for TeFL Domain 4 and you are using technology, it can look quite astounding. I had my timer out because I have to keep my year 8s focussed. They are millennials and with iPads they will drift off into play mode – “I think I’ll just do this for a minute.” They are unhurried students with no sense of urgency and a device will tune them out completely from what is going on around them unless you focus them. My timer does that. So does my voice. While I was connecting my MacBook to the whiteboard at the beginning of the lesson I had them chanting the verb Venir – to come. I was still connecting so we started conjugating Je viens de manger une pomme – I have just eaten an apple. Tu viens de manger une pomme – you have just eaten an apple. They were saying it quite well even though they were not totally sure of what they were saying. Great effort from year 8s with a term of French. I went to my slide presentation after I had called the roll. Bottom left of the picture you can see it. We were practising the verb now as we looked at it. Last week we had gone through it. Today we were going to master it. I got out the work sheet, right, we had used last week to produce pictures and sentences like other image featured aimer We practised everything on that sheet. They could say it all and they knew what it meant. So then we went back to the verb venir I taught them how to construct the sentences – Je viens de manger une pomme. I gave them 10 minutes to make 5 sentences using what we had learnt last week on the worksheet. If they finished early they could use the time on our vocabulary learning site and they love that. Two students headed straight for a translator. Why? They couldn’t make the connection what we were learning was what we were now practising. The translator came up with rubbish. It’s why I practise sentence construction like this. I know the translator will let them down. Once more I could tell them not to use a translator because it would only write nonsense for them. By teaching them in different ways myself and getting them to make good use of their iPads and previous work, I actually had a really good lesson. They will remember it. We’ll then make some more picture sentences because they love doing that. It is how they learn…listening, looking and doing.

Leave a Reply

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

Seaford Spinners and Weavers

Textile arts and crafts. Hand spinning. Weaving. Felting. Sustainability

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

