Use your interactive whiteboard!

knmags has put up a no nonsense, this is exactly what I need, YouTube clip so that if you haven’t used a Promethean Board or you have forgotten how to be in control of it, you can master the basics again and have fun in lessons. You can calibrate it by pressing on the Promethean logo top left of the board with your interactive pen. My MacBook decided to update my Promethean software so I decided I’d update my use of the board again as a teaching tool. A change. A chance to be centre front. Part of my problem is the board is slightly too high for me to reach to the top. Height challenged…so I am on tip toe to get to the toolbar. I look upon it as exercise! This video shows you how to get some good use out of the board by being a teacher.  Last week I slid an image onto the board so I could practice daily routine with the students very quickly and effectively because they needed to see me saying and doing to help their pronunciation and learning. I also used it to write up things for my years 8s with my poorly drawn pictures. I was surprised how responsive the year 8s were. They liked my drawings and they liked it that I was pronouncing as I wrote. We could then go over it and they them photographed the board I had written on their iPads and made a classy version of the work. That was all good learning practice and revision for them. Today , with my senior students, I used a big, complicated vocabulary word and explained it in French and how to use it. I used the Promethean Board to draw and say things. I draw badly and slowly so my French had to slow down to allow me time to draw and write. For them this was a bonus. They could follow what I was drawing and writing and they didn’t worry it was all in French. I was so impressed with how they learned what I was saying and they were taking in the explanation. It was better for them to see me talking, see me writing, see my dreadful pictures because they were totally immersed in the process of learning and out of it learned so many new words which they could remember. I have yet to read their feedback on this approach to see what they really thought. The feedback will help them identify where I may have lost them. I am also hoping it will make them realise that they know more than they think. I need to access their passive knowledge so, paradoxically, I have found the active board a good way of doing this. I spent about 15 minutes of my lesson doing that today. With the junior students it was only about 5-10minutes so there is still plenty of time to do other things and use other approaches. Use your interactive whiteboard and see what response you get. Maybe these new students appreciate the fact you are interacting more with them courtesy of the board.

Leave a Reply

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

Pilgrimage of the Word - We are From and To the Word "Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

