Linux Mint 15 – Olivia

Linux Mint 15I said I would come back to give Linux Mint 15 a proper review. It was just unfortunate or ill-advised that I’d decided to install it when I had internet treacle. That previous review couldn’t do it justice because I was dealing with internet issues and extreme heat weatherwise which had been affecting my Toshiba Satellite A500. It’s a credit to the operating system that I could rescue it from its crippled installation without having to resort to a completely new installation. I repaired the MergeList mess through Terminal. The only thing I haven’t been able to achieve as yet is get the TV going. It won’t work from a stick and it won’t work from the card. It may be to do with the fact Adelaide shifted channels when it went 100% digital and it may also be to do with the fact that the card and stick are hybrid tuners. It’s annoying because the first thing which has always worked on Linux Mint is the TV tuner. I’ll persevere. I have loaded everything I can think of , searched and used that help. Still nothing. I use Brasero for my music because I can also incorporate and look for podcasts. I use Firefox as the browser and Thunderbird as my email client because it automatically blocks images for security reasons. I have dressed up my desktop nicely with all the customising features available. On a good laptop Linux Mint 15 just goes. It runs everything (except TV), it is remarkably smooth and it’s not resource intensive. It can also run Flash respectably. Linux is usually hopeless on Flash and there is a horribly lag between clicking and action. It is painful normally. Not so with Linux Mint 15. It copes very well but will start pushing the processor after a little while. As I have said before, I come on Linux Mint to get away from it all. I am not bothered by anything, it’s very stable and just goes. Olivia is a very smooth operator and has some nice features in the menu so that you can easily manage , access and shift what you want. It also has some nice additions to the bottom taskbar so that you can keep up to date with settings and notifications. Linux likes to help you keep the desktop tidy. This means the load time is very fast. I am just about on Linux Mint 15 as soon as I have switched my laptop on. Compares well with Windows 8 in that respect. My latest and best find is Polly , a Twitter client which is very similar to TweetDeck. It loads quickly and is very efficient. I can now say that Linux Mint 15 is a classy, efficient version of Linux Mint and I enjoy using it.

Leave a Reply

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

Seaford Spinners and Weavers

Textile arts and crafts. Hand spinning. Weaving. Felting. Sustainability

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

