Thumbs up from the students

schoolYou just never know and you have to be open to never knowing in a classroom with technology. Last Friday my year 8s brought their iPads to school. This is the first year of Year 8s bringing their own devices so it’s all a learning curve. That lesson  I took them on a tiki tour of my iPad on the whiteboard so I could show them the apps I wanted them to download. I had given them a list. Some apps I wasn’t sure if they’d like and I had said that. We did the French apps …yes, yes, mm, okay, yes, mm…then we got to Explain Everything and I explained when they got their MacBooks they would be able to down load it on there too and I showed them. I said they could also put it on their home computer and work between their iPad and computer like I did. The energy level lifted. Their eyes lit up and I could see they were so keen to know about this app. I moved on to Educreations. I had opened a blank page, was putting in some text, a few squiggles, changing colours and got to the image part. Nothing on my camera roll  suited so I lifted my iPad and the students were so excited . I got the best photo of my class. We were all laughing and they were so involved. I put their image into my Educreation, wrote on Bonjour with my stylus, recorded “Bonjour, la classe!” and played it back to them on the board. That was learning. That was what they wanted. Monday when they came to class they had Educreations and  Explain Everything and had used them for their homework. Some apologised they hadn’t had time to download Explain Everything. There was no compulsion. It was interesting they wanted to apologise. So now I am looking at my year 8s in a new light. That photo moment has turned into a new learning curve for me. I realise these students want feature rich but simple layout apps. They want colour, text, paint, draw, sound and image. They want apps where you collate ideas in different modes. I had gone in with my plan to familiarise them with apps but they had moved my head on into a different thinking approach just because I took a picture. That meant something important to them and I need to work on that. I had noticed that iPads were like toys to these students. They were thinking of them in terms of diversion rather than intense learning so I had opened their eyes about how their iPad could really help them learn and they had shown me I could really teach far better with feature rich apps.

Leave a Reply

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

Seaford Spinners and Weavers

Textile arts and crafts. Hand spinning. Weaving. Felting. Sustainability

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

