Internet treacle

slow internet speedsI live in a part of the city which is giving a whole new meaning to the word upgrade. The mindboggling ramifications of any upgrade in my area have to be lived to be believed. Our train has been being upgraded. We haven’t had one for over year. It then came back and vanished. It now runs sometimes and who knows when? The transit corridor to the city is being upgraded. For nearly two years three major roads have been inaccessible. Those are now accessible but they have blocked a fourth one which is a main corridor for this area. Doesn’t matter. We are upgrading the Expressway. I was thanking my lucky stars I was running my phone on a 4G network because they are upgrading the mobile coverage for 3G. I  also noticed Windows 8.1 was doing some updates the other night. For the last couple of days I have had internet treacle. There have been a number of things I cannot do because I have been running at a spectacularly impressive speed of 56K. I was expecting to hear the dial up tones at any moment. Linux has managed considerably better than Windows 8 but it hasn’t been at all satisfactory. I checked the ISP and, yes, there is an upgrade to the broadband going on in my area. I never even had the thought I’d be upgraded to dazzling dial up speeds. Apart from going mental as anything what have I been doing when I am forced to run at 1990s dial up speed? I have  laptops running different versions of OS. Current computers run bloated software, invariably need internet connection for said software to function well and we are all connected on social networks. My desktop was useless at one stage. Linux Mint Maya survived pretty well and got things done for me. Using flash became out of the question. My iPad has been my friend because it easily accesses social networks even at abysmal internet speed. It also has productivity software which functions under those same tragic conditions. At the moment I am back on my desktop because the situation has improved. Not perfect, not optimum conditions and not as good as before the upgrade. No surprises there. If I have to I’ll get out a really old laptop and run an old version of Linux because if I am going to run at 1990s internet speeds I need to match the device and software. There is a real flaw in our technology roll out around the planet. If you want people to use high end devices and engage with the latest versions – you had better have the infrastructure to enable said devices.

Leave a Reply

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

