Equipment for podcasting

Exactly what I am looking for. Someone who knows what they are talking about, has experience and can show me what to get, what it does and the choice of what brand, what type is all mine. I at least know what to look for and I have some idea of the price. I know the names of equipment, I know what it does and then I can work the rest out myself. A video like this is worth its wait in gold if you are trying to learn how to do something. Travis Townsend is clear, he explains things well, he has a sense of humour, he is direct and he points you in the right direction. So this video is there for if or when I really want to follow through on getting some serious podcasting going. It’s not just for me , though. The other podcasting videos I put up have shown others the possibilities of what you can do in a classroom with a MacBook  and GarageBand and the videos are easy enough for secondary students to follow themselves. A teacher then is still focussing on the content, getting the creativity going and is there to troubleshoot. You have to grow before you can blossom .Videos like this one , that get to the heart of practicalities , take the pressure off by solving some of those worrying issues of what to do when you really don’t know what you are doing but are willing to learn.

4 Responses

  1. Cathy- this is a splendid and well-thought post. It is not only for teachers; it is for all professions. I liked very much what you wrote above “You have to grow before you can blossom” . I might even steal it as a title for my next presentation. It is so useful. For example, storytelling is a great way to explain issues to students. Make the characters grow and then have them blossom. This is a far emotional expression than saying “don’t put the cart before the horse. The linked webpage is so informative.
    Cathy, thanks for sharing your splendid thoughts.

    • So glad you followed that link because there is a lot of really good information there. I just liked the way he was so straight forward and just said what you needed and what it might cost. It was like he was just sitting there with you just talking to you. Yes, I like the – you have to grow before you blossom – metaphor. It really has relevance in my life and in my classroom. It’s a good way of looking at people and what they can do. It is not my saying – it’s just a saying in English so you could use it for a presentation and I can well imagine you’d make a really good one with that as a topic. Story telling is time honoured as a solid way of conveying important knowledge and so is sitting and talking.

  2. […] has made a vast improvement to my voice recordings. I still have to thank Travis Townsend and his excellent video for getting me on the right track in the first place. You Tube is where I always end up if I am […]

  3. […] and wondered what I’d make a video about as a teacher and then, I had done all that work on podcasts and I can’t think of anything to podcast about. Still can’t. That one may remain a […]

Leave a Reply

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

Pilgrimage of the Word - We are From and To the Word "Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

