What podcasts do you listen to?

podcastAs I explained earlier, I plan to work on sound this year because I have focussed heavily on visual elements and  sound has been by way of enhancement. This year I plan to improve  using sound , creating sound and focussing on sound in assignments and tasks which is why I am asking you about podcasts. It is unclear to me how popular they are with others but I got my email  in from Rantings of an Amateur Chef and there he was writing a post about a podcast he’d listened to. Maybe it’s a cooking thing. When I am cooking that is  one of the times I am listening to a podcast or two. The Ranting Chef is a great blog if you like cooking. He writes well and comes up with some great recipes and then this post on a podcast which reminded me to write about it myself. I think podcasts would be highly suited to classroom activity. It would make a change from visuals and assignment pages. It would also force students to make better choices in terms of how they compose and formulate information . They can integrate other sounds and make it a bit more like a radio show, or they can keep it simpler and just talk. They will soon learn they need to be animated and articulate. For oral development and thinking skills podcasts are ideal because they can be of any length. One of the regular podcasters I listen to every week actually did a survey on his Facebook page to see if people wanted 5 minute podcasts or the longer ones of 20 minutes. I prefer the longer ones because I fit one in on my way to work and one on the way home and then other short podcasts for variety. Yes, podcasts are a valuable addition to my drive time. I learn so much and good podcasts are able to keep my attention. By now I know which ones I like. So, for me, cooking and driving times are when I listen to podcasts. I use a lot of podcasts and so am thinking they are something worth exploring in an educational way . I know my senior students use the podcasts I recommend to help them with their learning. They like to download them onto their phones or iPod Touches. Junior students don’t seem to like them so much , perhaps because their attention span is shorter. Another reason to work on podcasts , I think. It might help develop better listening and attention skills. Obviously, these are my thoughts as I think them. I am working on a plan. In the meantime I am curious to know what podcasts you listen to and where.

4 Responses

  1. I love TeacherEducation Review (@TERpodcast) for a long form general podcast and #EdChat Radio (hosted by @TomWhitby) and it runs about 10 min.
    As someone who runs a flipped classroom for seniors I love EdReach – Flipped classroom w/ Troy Cockrum for long form and the Flip Side w/ Jon Bergmann

    • Thank you for those. I must try and find them and listen to them. I have had some good recommendations since I wrote this post so maybe I’ll write a post with everyone’s recommendations! Thank you for taking the time to comment and share.

  2. Also you never went into which ones you listen to for us?

    • Well, I listen to French ones so I didn’t put them on here. Was wondering whether to or not. I have put some of them on my French teaching blog ahoui? featured on the left of this blog. It’s only since I wrote this post I have found some English ones to listen to. Europe 1 is the one I listen to a lot and then there is a French Canadian cooking programme. I like Francaisauthentique and DailyFrenchPod too. There are also some good podcasts from the SBS radio/TV station here in Australia and I listen to those mainly in French but there are some English ones as well. I was going to do an update of my podcasts for my blog.

Leave a Reply

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

