Clever little app – Netpage

netpage

Image via netpage

Okay, so the free netpage app is designed for you the consumer rather than you , the educator, the learner, the anywhere, anytime, anyhow 21st century creative unit. However, the educational possibilities of this app are certainly there. What I didn’t know was the new copy of my gardening magazine would be netpage enabled. I have used my iPad a lot for digitally enhanced content in magazines but my Samsung phone I haven’t. I got my phone out and downloaded the free netpage app and opened the netpage enabled page, used the app and posted it to Twitter. Why not? I have a Twitter account and at that stage I didn’t think I’d want an email copy of it. Silly of me. It is called discovery learning and why I like technology so much. You can find things out which end up be fun and then cornerstone discoveries. When I clicked on my Twitter tweet link it took me to a web page and not only could I view the pages I had magically scanned on my phone, I could download them as a pdf. Lightbulb moment for my educator self. What if we had this in class? Students would love that little yellow bar doing the scanning. They’d love the blue circle to enable the app. They’d love scanning a page and then sharing it with friend on their phone, tablet or laptop. It looks so much cooler when you see it on an HD screen. It also means you don’t have to carry a whole magazine just to show somebody a really good article or read. You get your own chosen magazine quality material. One of the ways you engage people in learning is to provide them with a cool tool and netpage really has that possibility. If it were applied to books then it would be a great thing for libraries and for engaging with print texts in a different ways. It would be great for students who are trying to make course selections at secondary and tertiary level. They could gather course requirements and descriptions into DropBox or Evernote. I have all these ideas just from using this app once so I am going back to my magazine with my phone to see what else I can do and think.

2 Responses

  1. Cathy, this is a creative article because of the way you extended the use of the app. Congrats

    • Hallo, Ali. I also worked out you could use it to build up classroom resources and text books, for as long as we have them, could be enabled to have electronic, interactive sections. It’s is an app which has really given me ideas. I really like how it works and how you can share magazine pages.

Leave a Reply

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

