Letter Bubbles are fun

letter bubblesFrom time to time I like to brush up my keyboard skills on my devices. I don’t practice much or often but I do find a concentrated effort now and again makes for better keyboard skills no matter what the device. Letter Bubbles is a game which helps familiarise you with your keyboard and you can play it  different levels. On the insane level I got 83% at the first attempt. That one forces you to know your keys! As a teacher you need to be able to type well since it gets information up onto the board quickly and efficiently. I can type and teach . I can talk, teach and type! I have learned to set the work up in a slide presentation as I go if I choose to do it that way. More often I go in already prepared with the information I want to use. Students can easily ready typing and you can adjust the size and colour to suit their needs. Later you can improve the presentation to make it more professional and then it is there as a resource for another class and another day. I often have to type in correct answers to work book exercises on the board too. That has been a real step forward in my classroom. I no longer have to spell everything out. Students can see what I am writing and I have found we can do more and be better at it if I can type in the electronic work book answers. So, yes, I like to keep my skills up. Letter Bubbles is funny. At the Beginners’ level it is quite relaxing. The Classic level is a bit ordinary and the insane level really puts the heat on and really gets you to know your keyboard. Keyboard skills will still be necessary for large, demanding pieces of work. There is no voice software which is totally accurate even though it can be quite handy for smaller things and touch keyboards are designed for light weight written work. That’s why I think a keyboard makes an iPad more productive. The touch keyboard can only get you so far and if you don’t need to write a lot then it won’t be a big issue, but if you need to write extended pieces and present high level written work then , currently, we have need to sustain our keyboard skills.

3 Responses

  1. Cathy, great and very useful. Being a non-keyboard user I wonder if it works with me. I try to avoid the keyboard whenever possible. I wonder what to call this? keyboard phobia?!!! I am hopeless. I confess

    Like

    • So how do you type all the things you do if you don’t use a keyboard? I guess you just don’t like keyboards. I rest my case. We are all different in the way we use technology. LetterBubbles will let you feel better with your keyboard skills! I am not very good with touch screen keyboards. I am not too bad on an iPad touch screen and my Samsung phone touch screen keyboard isn’t too bad but I am not good at typing at length on a touch screen keyboard. Just as bad with a track pad.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

Seaford Spinners and Weavers

Textile arts and crafts. Hand spinning. Weaving. Felting. Sustainability

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

