It’s not Google Docs – it’s Google Drive!

 

I shall not call it Google Docs. I shall not call it Google Docs. I shall not call it Google Docs. How did I miss that one? It’s only been a year since Google Docs became Google Drive, or at least, integrated into Google Drive. Had it not been for the recent email from makeuseof, I’d still be wandering in ignorance. That link has some good tips about how to get the best use out of Google Drive for research. To me , they were two separate things. Google Drive was cloud storage and Google Docs was … Google Docs. I just thought it looked nicer. I confess I was a bit nonplussed when my MacBook decided to send a Powerpoint presentation to someone by using Google Drive instead of as an attachment. That was in GMail. As it turned out it was quicker to put the said Powerpoint onto a USB drive and take it to the person’s office. By the time I got back, Google Drive had sent me the link to include in my email. All this was without explanation or by your leave. Google just did it. Google might have thought it was being helpful but had no idea I had no idea. Makeuseof has straightened me out. So watch the video and then go to the Google Drive support site where you will find another really good video and some helpful information. You, too, will now stop calling it Google Docs. This is why we need teachers on the Net. They don’t let you make fundamental errors in process.

3 Responses

  1. Having a good chuckle….great article!!

    • Well, I felt very silly when I realised I had been calling it the wrong thing for a year. Glad you enjoyed it because it was fun writing it to get over my embarrassment.

  2. […] Google Drive, remember? Google Docs had a name change and makeover this year so even if this little video calls it Google […]

Leave a Reply

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

Pilgrimage of the Word - We are From and To the Word "Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

