Meet the smart alec phone

samsung expressImage : My image vis befunky

Meet my new Samsung Galaxy Express smart alec phone. Now say good-bye to it because it’s a real pain. In time, I may well be able to create a workable relationship with it. Currently it spends more time off than on, is sent to the corner in disgrace and has proven its worth as the new nemesis in my life. I have had it since Wednesday and was so pleased to be finally moving into the smartphone arena. That lasted 2 hours. It is so hard to get along with and so pushy I don’t spend my time using it. So far I have spent my time trying to tame the little monster with the misplaced sense of self importance . I had picked the easy set up. In retrospect I think I should have taken the long way round . Things are hidden. Settings are not clear. Syncing is surreptitious and not in one easy find place. Google has downloaded so many photos off my blogs and wherever else and the phone had even synced with my Yahoo account. Why? It had no right to. I had turned the syncing off…I thought. Google keeps popping up and pushing me places I don’t want to be. I had it on the wifi network – one of the reasons I got it – and it was sending things down over the mobile network. Where’s the button that says – only update and download over wifi? Now I probably have exceeded my data limit. Until I can verify that, the mobile data is switched off and I have to switch it back on when I want to see photos people send me. Then I have the speech bubble conversations which you see all over Facebook. How kiddie. Where’s the text only option for adults who have no wish to be cartoons? Where’s the option to clear the messages? Nowhere obvious like on my little Samsung  pre-smartphone phone. It also stops my laptop going on the wifi network. I know, I thought so, too. I have to turn the phone off if I want to use my laptop on wifi or I stupidly have to throw a line across the lounge and have an ethernet connection on the laptop. So much for smartness. Very uncool. I am really annoyed because there is no separation of powers and I am in full battle mode getting in control of my stupid new phone which I should be loving. I have its big sister – the 7″ tablet, and by contrast it is such a dream to use. I know what I am doing. I know where to change and arrange. I know the tablet is working on my behalf. I do not have annoying , in your face messages coming up and it doesn’t go around collecting pictures from my accounts and shoving them on my device. I could go on. Down the track, when the phone learns to behave itself like a civilised human device, I shall probably be able to write something nicer. Right now, the smoke is still coming out of my ears and I feel sorry for anyone who has no plan of attack with this phone. I have a plan and , in the end, I shall prevail. Right now I am data collecting for my next engagement with the little monster.

One Response

  1. […] enough to allow me to introduce it properly. When I blogged about it last , it was a very naughty phone. That was 3 weeks ago and since then it has been to the school for fine living skills and dignity […]

Leave a Reply

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

