DIY lesson renovation

questionNever give up and never think you have it wrong. Technology adds another layer of complexity to a lesson which has to be navigated, especially with new laptop users. Friday’s lesson was baffling since I had not thought the things which did hold up the lesson were the sorts of things that would. I live and learn. I also talk to my students. We clarified if I want them to write on their laptops I need to say type and not write. To them writing is with a pen. We also clarified that if they cannot get Net access they can use their laptops to use the software available and then do the Net catch up later. We also realised there wasn’t particularly a reason for them not understanding my question about the best images. It was the time of day, the weather, the end of the week. Nothing in particular. This is why it is so essential to get that feedback loop going with a class. It smoothes the way. So, Tuesday after lunch we had another version of my Friday lesson. I never give up on an idea. If it doesn’t work with one class, it will probably work with another. If the idea needs refinement and adjustment for implementation, then that is a good thing. It means I have had some connected conversations with students and colleagues so I can make an idea work. We looked at 15 minutes of a video on Paris and I’ll let them watch the next bit next lesson. After lunch more than 15 minutes will encourage them to drift off. The video was in simple French and taking them on a tour of Paris. It was very well made. We then did our feed back on Twiducate. We are building up our knowledge base so we can make a good iMovie on Paris next term. I only asked 3 questions:

Est-ce que tu aimes Paris?
Oui, j’aime Paris.

What is better – looking at still pictures or a video?
A video is better because it can be more eye catching and your attention will always be on it.

What do you think Paris is like (based on this video)?
I think Paris would be busy and fast moving  and there is probably always something to do or to see.

1. Oui, j’aime la ville de Paris.
2. I think that a mixture of both would give the best visual aspects of a presentation, but I prefer pictures because you at least have a bit of time to really take in the picture to see exactly what’s going on in the depiction of the picture, whereas videos, you only see the main things and that for me can mean I’m missing out on some things.
3. I think that Paris is like any other major city but has just a better look about it.

1) Oui, j’aime Paris.
2) I think videos are better because they can get more things in the screen and the person holding the camera can move around but if you take a photo you cant see as much
3) I think Paris is very busy and crowded but it is a colourful and exciting.

I had not used the word image. I had asked for comparisons and just a simple opinion. Most students thought videos were better by far and could explain why. Those who preferred still images or thought still images had a role to play could articulate well why they thought that.

Our lesson went on with our look at the perfect tense and some practice sentences which related to the presentation they are working on and to the Paris presentation and then we did 10 minutes in iMovie so they could see some of the key features.

That technology lesson worked really well because we had cleared up the communication breakdown and then clarified what tools were appropriate for which tasks. Clarity is everything!

Leave a Reply

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

