Creating a digital profile Step One

strawberriesLast week I blogged about my plan to create digital profiles with my year 11 home group and my reasons why. I mapped out a plan. Today was my first opportunity to action that plan. I had 30 minutes before the assembly. The good thing about technology is you are able to get real power out of a short space of time if you have to. I loaded up my blog post on the whiteboard because it had the links to job skills, digital profiles, e-portfolios and the comic strip templates. I talked a bit about how I could improve my own profile which was shown now I had thought about it. I gave them 2 other links:

Tagxedo so they could make a text based tag cloud to take a screen shot of.

Tag Galaxy so they could make an image based tag cloud but I show them just how interactive it was if they wanted to use it for other purposes.

We also learned about QR codes and QR code readers. Some students couldn’t read the web address from the board. My blog just happens to have a QR Code. I just happened to have my iPad with a QR code reader and I showed them how to do that. So some had loaded the post straight to their phones for future reference or took it off their phones to put onto their MacBooks.

What the students responded to immediate was the fact Tagxedo had a Facebook page which we could look at. Then they just enjoyed making visual and text tag clouds of themselves. They were very absorbed and one boy had to remind us we needed to be off to the assembly!

One Response

  1. […] One is here. My home group lesson this week was very satisfying for all but two students who achieved nothing […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

News and facts, around the Globe

new and facts around the 🌐 globe

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

Seaford Spinners and Weavers

Textile arts and crafts. Hand spinning. Weaving. Felting. Sustainability

How To Addict

Get it done! Daily fearless motivation, how to guides, book reviews. Mecca of self improvement that waits just for you!

Bond Back Cleaner

Bond Back End Of Lease Cleaning

printheal

Hard case books

witty -> AyJ

Have a Read , Then Giggle !!

The Blog of Travel

Motorbikes, dogs and a lot of traveling.

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

"Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

