Creating a digital profile

digital profile I have seen a number of articles now like this one on Life Inc where digital profiles are being discussed. Social media profiles are being used increasingly as part of a résumé or job application. Good social media profiles are an asset. A sound capacity to represent yourself in digital form is an asset. By the end of this term or , at the very latest, the beginning of next term, I want my year 11 home group to be able to have a simple digital profile like the one I have created left. They need to be able to represent themselves simply in electronic format. That to me is step one of creating your online profile . It would be an easy year 8 goal. In year 9 or step 2 I’d be looking at an electronic brochure format. In year 10 or step 3 I’d be looking at a slide format. That will be the next step with my home group. Once we have a simple digital profile we’ll flesh it out into a slide presentation. Step 4 is to create a movie to represent ourselves electronically. It is then important to look at how to create one with more text or to change formats for different purposes. To create the one I have just made I used the comic strip templates. Thank you to @gwynethjones and @donnayoungorg on Twitter. These would have hundreds of uses in a classroom but they suit a digital profile well because they put in much needed boundaries for this exercise and then there are a range of formats. They come as pdfs. As such you can create a good text based one, too, which would address job skills. With my home group I’ll be addressing those skills in their slide presentation. I think they will manage it more effectively that way. With the pdf, though, you can add comment bubbles and keep visible text to a minimum and so present something uncluttered. The job skills subject guide has a wealth of information and help with regard to creating digital profiles and résumés. I am doing it because I think students  need to know how to do this . It also means I have a chance to show them that working on positive social media profiles will be an asset.

4 Responses

  1. Cathy, this is a very useful post. I resemble digital profiles to fingerprints in that they should reflect our DNA personality. Thanks for a superb post

    • I agree. Oddly enough it is really easy to tell a fake profile online. It really shows up when things are not authentic.Profiles should reflect us and ,in actual fact, can be more fun and far more interesting than pages and pages of information about a person. Employers and HR personnel would have a more interesting time with digital profiles. I appreciate your really encouraging comment.

  2. […] week I blogged about my plan to create digital profiles with my year 11 home group and my reasons why. I mapped out a plan. Today was my first opportunity […]

  3. […] Students need practice in creating visual résumés so they can play around with the ideas and approaches and then work out , by gaining thoughtful and considered feedback, how to best represent themselves to the world. One of the things they tend to do is underrate the skills they have and are not aware of how they can document those skills . Visual résumés make it possible for them to annotate their attributes on familiar ground. This Pinterest site by Elaine Edmonds has a wide variety of examples of graphic CVs to look at and to get ideas. You might also find my post Creating a digital profile helpful. […]

Leave a Reply

Bitcoin Mining (Antminer S9)

Bitcoin Mining Hardware

The Not So Romeo & Juliet Story

love, life, hate, adventures, problems

Love and Light

Pilgrimage of the Word - We are From and To the Word "Ziarah Kata - Kita : Dari dan Kepada : Kata"

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolve-It Mediation & Counselling

Healthy Individuals make for healthy & Prosperous workplaces maximizing key outcomes

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

waste not want not

a blog about trying to live with less

My journey to a butterfly

How I escaped from my cocoon while running a business and raising two kids without completely losing my mind

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

#Speak

Break the silence. End the violence.

