E-lesson template

iPad paris My e-lesson template for French

I have found it is quite difficult to distil what you do as a teacher on a daily basis in a classroom in order to teach students. This is my best effort and I had to think about how I actually cover topics. it is not as simple as following a format because there is something organic and spontaneous about teaching.

I generally cover two topics a term . Within that I teach vocab, grammar and sentence structure.

First things first:

1. Roll – students have 3-5 sentences to write or a simple exercise while I am doing that.
2. Explain what is in the lesson and what it will do for them
3. Teach content simply with slide show
4. Teach content in a more complex way with slide show
5. Use a short video to reinforce content
6. Do some exercises to practice

Follow up lessons:

1. Exercise to practise what we are learning – whiteboard
2. Ideas and examples about how they can improve – whiteboard
3. Look at the technology involved – whiteboard
4. Set the assignment and explain it
5. Examples of what I want them to achieve – whiteboard
6. Include other short videos which reinforce vocabulary ,content and presentation skills

Follow up lessons:

1. iPad apps to reinforce what we are doing
2. One to one help and tuition
3. Group input about how we can improve
4. One to one help and tuition
5. Specific quick exercises to reinforce and further develop content
6. Leave them alone to work
7. Respond to specific requests for help.
8. Negotiate deadline and presentation requirements

Homework:

A long term assignment which will practise the skills we are learning in class and then I alternate between an oral and written presentation.

Feedback:

I collect it informally along the way but ask them to report back in writing on Twiducate. I generally ask them questions so that the feedback I get is quite specific.

Materials:

I create a folder with the short and long term assignments relevant to the topic
I collect the slide shows relevant to the topic
I collect the sound files
I make sure I know which parts of the text book/workbook we are doing each lesson.
I collect videos and video links relevant to the topic and make sure I have book marked video links and created a text file with them.
For students without laptops I make the necessary computer room bookings each week according to our needs
I ensure everyone is comfortable with the technology aspect and spend at least 3 lessons on that.
I bookmark sites which will help them learn and get started or further develop their knowledge
I upload tasks and files to LMS or put in network folder.

Embed YouTube videos into Word

Teacher Experience Exchange has a very clear and well constructed video about how you can put a YouTube video into a Word doc for teaching purposes. The principle is the same for embedding YouTube videos into PowerPoint. It needs to run in Windows since the ones I did would not show on the MacBook in Office. Maybe there is MacBook magic for embedded videos in Mac Office. This is a very handy tip since you don’t have to worry about finding URLs and remembering them. You can put the video you want students to watch straight into the doc or Powerpoint.It also gives you the flexibility of setting some good assignments for study time or homework. Much smoother and more authentic transitions in content delivery! My instructions for Powerpoint are here.

she's a seeker

It's never too late to seek.

angelalimaq

food, travel and musings of a TV presenter.

irisgassenbauer

bleib ruhig hier

Ang and Mae

Staying Active, While Staying Home

Stepmom Warrior, LLC

Stepfamily Coach supporting,empowering, and inspiring stepparents along their journey.

Our Homesteading Dream

Join our family as we journey towards our homesteading dream!

honeythatsok

stories we tell ourselves

John Wreford Photographer

Words and Pictures from the Middle East

When Am With You... Whitney Ibe Blog!

Inspirational,Motivational, Lifestyle, Daily Living, Positivity, Religion

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Living the dream... in Paris, France

Living the dream and the reality that goes along with it... The good, the bad & the everyday things that make life interesting in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Believe in dreams & fear not the realization of them… for anything is possible. Bellanda ®

Tune Up Success

Redesign Your Life

this tiny blue house

striving to live simply, mindfully and intentionally.

seenu625

love nature, and all things creative