Using technology

Using technology

Think – it’s all in the preparation
Connect – use technology to talk with your audience
Know – know your audience and your subject matter
Understand – do you know what they need and what they are looking for?
Convince - what you are teaching is beneficial to them.
Conclude - tie up the loose ends, connect the dots, join up information
Hold something back – leave the lesson with the next logical step ready to be learnt

We have some good choices in technology now so it is important to think out what you want to use and how. Yesterday I split the whiteboard screen to show a doc on one side and then use the interactive whiteboard on the other side. We then went to practising what we had done using a flashcard programme on the whiteboard which had sound as well. From there to a new programme we are learning so we can animate our next assignment. These students like active, like big visuals and they like a gaming approach. They will work hard and learn the content if I offer it to them in a way which really enables them. My year 11s and 12s had a surprise the other day. My Year 11s had to do an exam. So I had set that up. At the same time I was required to teach the year 12s. I could have sent them else where or told them they were to work silently for 2 hours. They are, after all , Year 12s. I thought about it. We have missed lessons for various reasons. Their year is a short one and the tasks are demanding. I told the year 12s there were two assignments we were going to get organised in that 2 hours. I had the Year 11s up and running with their exam. I had my laptop where I could see them and the time. Every 15 minutes I got up to supervise. Every 30 minutes I announced the passing of time. In between my year 12s and I wrote little notes to each other so I could help them and they messaged me rough copies of their work over the learner management system. With more students I could not have done that. With different students I could not have done that. You look at your classes , your capabilities and your tools and you work out the maximum use of technology to achieve something for those students and yourself. Sitting watching students for 2 hours is a poor use of me and my capabilities. Making sure everyone’s needs are met in an educational context is a good use. My year 12s were amazed how much we achieved so it was a good lesson in focussed learning for them. My Year 11s were comfortable because they knew I was there and looking after them but I was not looking at them all the time. For my year 9s we have the animation story board to prepare on Monday, for my year 11s I have their exams to return with the learning they will now need very clear and the year 12s can ramp up and start their big oral assignment. Preparation is everything and content is king.

2 thoughts on “Using technology

  1. Thank you Cathy, I always look forward to your next blog post (I follow them all :-) You mentioned your school’s Learning Management System. May I ask which one you are using? I will be testing CANVAS as a French teacher in August when we get back from summer break, and I can’t wait to play with it!

    • You will have to tell me about Canvas! We use DayMap and have done so for about 4 – 5 years. That was so nice of you to drop by and leave a good comment and to tell me you appreciate what I do. I try to be as useful as possible on my blog.

Leave a Reply

