Netbook news

netbook TV My netbook may not be looking any better but it is certainly working hard and I am really getting it sorted. Just over a week down the track it’s one of my best friends because it is little, manageable and can do whatever I want. This Acer Aspire One is very well made and sturdy. It means I compute very comfortably. Tonight I tuned the TV channels into it using my USB TV stick. I have downloaded Open Office and that’s because it was too annoying trying to install my bone fide Microsoft Office . The netbook decided it wasn’t going to read any CDs from my external CD player. It appears to be reading it as USB storage and I shall have to sort that out later. In the meantime Apache Open Office from sourceforge is probably going to be more than adequate. At the weekend I had the RAM upgraded to 2GB and it makes a considerable difference and was worth the financial outlay. The netbook can now do more than one thing at a time, downloads and uploads very fast and there is little wait time on page loads. The graphics are adequate, the sound is adequate but I do have external speakers should I want better sound. I can get most files I need from the cloud, USB or external portable drive. So, my netbook journey is progressing. Right now I have all the software I need really for my purposes. The TV is a nice little addition! I can stay fully functional on this netbook without being super fancy. That’s okay.

2 thoughts on “Netbook news

    • Libre Office is good. I have used it before. I am pretty sure I have Libre Office on one of my Linux computers. Thought Open Office suited the Netbook better. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

