What about the sound?

I am listening to sound files all the time – in class, from the students, podcasts in the car, YouTube clips, news programmes… What I have noticed is we have reached a real high in some areas and with some people with regard to sound quality. Others are struggling to get the sound just right. Some people are naturals, some work really hard at it and others don’t get it quite right. I am in the don’t get it quite right group and some of my students are too. We all have mobile and other technology which readily records good quality sound but we don’t all get the best out of it. I have worked hard the last two years on getting the visual presentations right for my resources and for my students who are presenting their work. The next logical step for me is to work on sound. I need to get better quality sound on the materials I make, I need to explore podcasts more and I need to help my students to get better use of the sound software on their laptops and devices. As with visuals, it is not going to happen all at once. It will be a journey. Podcasts are something which you can listen to any time , any place. They are even more flexible than visual files. As a language teacher I can see some real benefits in working with sound files in class and improving the quality of them. As with anything else I want to learn and improve on I have started to gather resources and information. The video with this post is impressive because in 3 minutes from Tinkernut I learnt a lot about a software programme I already use and it puts all that information into a neat package so I can see the whole picture. This post is by way of note to self because I am going to add links to 5 sites which provide a solid grounding for getting better sound:

Five tips for a better audio podcast
Beginner’s guide to setting up Your Own Podcasts
How to start your first podcast
Use Skype and Garage Band to make a podcast that sounds great
10 Podcast Tips

This way, when I am ready to start working on sound, I have a bank of helpful resources on my blog.

2 thoughts on “What about the sound?

  1. Pingback: What podcasts do you listen to? | E-WOT

  2. Pingback: Podcasting tutorials | E-WOT

Leave a Reply

