Teachers need to use Twitter

TwitterTeachers need to use Twitter. It means you can have regular input from like minded people and from people who are involved in all sorts of areas. It broadens your knowledge and your thinking. I have access to a constant stream of professional input from all sorts of sources. New ideas, trends and processes come my way on a regular basis. I can use my own areas of expertise and knowledge to share ideas with others but I can help them too. A problem shared is a problem halved and people often go on Twitter to get technology help. I tweet my issues with devices and software and the same goes for others. An annoying block or difficulty can be quickly resolved – like my Samsung Galaxy Express stopping my Windows 7 laptop from accessing wifi. I just tweeted it. The fix was there by the next day. It means we are constantly helping and supporting each other but we are growing ideas and sharing inspiration too. It keeps you buoyant. You are never hunting for ideas nor blocked because you can’t think what to do. Another real advantage is you can combine with others to cover the content of meetings and conferences. This means that content is preserved so it can be utilised elsewhere in the real or virtual world. They are not separate. They run concurrently and what you do in the virtual world can be of real help in the real world. Twitter facilitates all of that integration of the real and virtual worlds and so takes away the burden of trying to battle it out alone in the classroom day in day out. Teaching can extend into virtual world and make some valuable, viable connections and impact. Those then can be used to grow your real world.

2 thoughts on “Teachers need to use Twitter

  1. Cathy this is a great post and explains the value of Twitter beautifully. I like the example on Windows 7 and how you resolved your problem in less than a day. Truly, if we care we share

    • Good to hear from you, Ali. Twitter has a genuine place in my life and makes so many things so much easier. It creates a really professional environment if you follow the right people and you get the right people back. Still don’t like that random feed on Tweetdeck. It’s true. I was stumped. I had searched and searched for some help with the Samsung Win 7 wifi problem so , in desperation, I tweeted my problem and bingo – solved! I can help other desperate people too. It’s a service that runs all day, every day!!

Leave a Reply

