Pushy Push Technology

TeachThought

TeachThoughtLet’s start with the opposite. Pull technology is when you go out on the Net looking for things. You perform searches or you look for information on a site. You are pulling that information towards you and using it. Push technology is when it is driven at you. It might be software that has pop up screens to tell you about new information. It might be apps which are telling you they have updates or new items for you , like if you subscribe to particular magazines or books on your tablet. It could be news information from a news site you have an app for. It can also come up in your Facebook feed if you “like” particular pages. Part of the problem with my new phone was inappropriate use of push technology. Things were coming at me on the screen and it was a matter of going through settings and software to stop this unsolicited and unwarranted use of push technology. Pushing you to go here, pushing you to update when you are not ready, pushing you to go there and pushing you to do what you are not inclined to do at that moment in time. It can also be presumption. My Facebook feed sometimes has push notifications from sites where I have not clicked the “like” button or I have not asked for notifications. The fix I have found is to block that notification. I don’t block the whole company/organisation or report as spam. I would if it happened too often. Once you have blocked that message, then Facebook understands you are not interested and won’t bother with any push notifications for  quite a while. They try it on a bit. They think they can guess what you might be interested in. No. They have no idea. On my iPad I enable the push notifications for the apps I install. It keeps them up to date and it keeps me up to date because they are usually apps with information. It also updates me on Twitter activity and Facebook statuses. That kind of push notification saves me having to go to the apps , start them and then find out what is new. It’s a time saver. I also have my phone set up now so it will send me push notifications about some things when I am on wifi. Sometimes you have to go to the settings in the software or app itself to turn these notifications off. Tablets make that easy by having the apps in the settings so you can check them. On a computer you have to go to the settings or preferences of the software. Mostly push notification is good and I get worthwhile notifications like the one left where  Teach Thought came up with the Oaths for iPads notification on my Facebook feed. When sites and software do not easily offer you the opt in/opt out option for push notifications it then becomes harassment and that never works because it gets people flustered and offside. There’s a fine line between push and pushy.

Leave a Reply

