Plan with Storify

a la mode Since I wanted to improve productivity  with my iPad I decided I’d sit down and plan some class work with my iPad. I have used Storify before and most recently to capture some of the ideas and flavour of a conference I went to. It works well as a record keeper of an event or a themed resource. Using it for class, though, is a different matter. I downloaded the Storify app from the app store. For a few minutes it was a bit cantankerous but it settled in and planning my resource mustering was easy. In year 9 French I have to teach clothing. When I do that I always look at French fashion. I found YouTube clips of fashion parades and a lightweight teaching French clip of buying clothes. I also found a clip to teach clothing vocabulary. I added a couple of pertinent tweets in French and then  websites to teach vocabulary, purchasing conversations and how you shop for clothes in a French speaking environment. I have focussed on the French. What I have now is a pretty comprehensive tool and set of resources to teach the language and cultural context of clothing. It’s real. These are real designers, real people who live in France and I know the authenticity is something the students will appreciate. The added bonus is now my resources are online and so available provided I have an internet connection, but they are stored and I cannot lose them or forget where I filed them. I have shared the à la mode Storify on Pinterest so others can share it, and they have, but it also means I have safeguarded myself with another link to my work. If that’s an example of how I can improve my tablet productivity, I am happy with that.

3 thoughts on “Plan with Storify

    • Well, I just curated resources for teching clothing in French. I don’t think I have ever thought of curating materials but you have put a new look on what I do! Thank you for your comment.

  1. Pingback: Plan lessons and units of work with Storify | E-WOT

Leave a Reply

