Why blog?

e-wot tag cloud Image – tagxedo

Why do I blog? Let me give you my five best reasons:

1. I can focus in detail on learning something or I can explore something in detail.

2. I can share some good classroom practice and ideas and receive good information back in return.

3. I can share knowledge and information and contribute to a global pool.

4. I can think with my fingers which helps me to better process information. As a teacher I have a head full of information. It is nice to be able to get it out there on the blog and have a look at it.

5. The 5th reason only became apparent to me recently. I can have a transferable bank of knowledge and information which I can update and re-use. I packed up an old blog and sent the xml file to a new site and set it up and sorted through it. It was like moving house. I had a chance to see things in a new way, put familiar things in a new setting and get on with a different way of looking at that subject matter. None of the work or input had been lost. So a blog can be a living archive of what you are doing and when the time comes all of that can be transported to a new, more appropriate home on the net.

NB: Tasmania was on my original tag cloud but has been masked by the border around the edge of the image.

2 thoughts on “Why blog?

  1. Cathy, I love what you wrote ” I had a chance to see things in a new way, put familiar things in a new setting and get on with a different way of looking at that subject matter”. Yes, this post is admirable as it shows the value of zooming in and out of information to explore new worlds. I love the five reasons you gave to thee value of posting. I may add also that I am here because of your posts.

Leave a Reply

