It’s not easy teaching vocab

I used Pinnacle Studio 12 to make this video and am quite pleased with what I achieved. I made Powerpoints of the space vocabulary in French which I embedded into the video. I can use the Powerpoints first in class and then use the video as an example of a “French space movie” which is something I want my students to make in iMovie and also as a way of revising and learning the vocab. It is not easy doing space content and vocabulary in French and it comes up in our year 9 French course. It is important vocabulary and so I am constantly looking for ways to make it authentic and manageable. I have a web quest which goes with this and a French space cartoon.

I didn’t have to hurt my head so much with Pinnacle Studio. It is mid way between Corel Video Studio and Movie Studio Platinum 12. It has some really good effects and the time line is easy to manage. By having 4 programmes, because I have iMovie on my MacBook, I should be able to match the software to the assignment teaching videos. Sometimes it is only necessary to do something quick and easy. Other times I have more time and I always want to learn something myself as I am teaching students something. I think it then helps them to realise that everyone needs to and has to learn and it is not just something done at school. My belief is the new generation of students learns better with video input and so I have to find ways of packaging content to meet their needs. I don’t just open the book at page 12 and do the exercises. I also find if I want them to learn to make movies to help them practise their French then it is better if I go in with something I have done and then they can see what is possible but also know I am doing what I am asking them to do. I’ll be able to say with a clear conscience I had to learn the software to bring them this teaching video. It makes a difference to their attitude. It was also because I made the video that I found some really good resources for teaching French space language and I also found out about NASA Explorer Schools. Learning is never in isolation. It always branches out.

Leave a Reply

