Blog Challenge #7 – Redecorate

technology

Stitch and colour

I arrived at my blog last week to find a notice on Dashboard that my theme had been updated to Able.I was preparing for Christmas. No time to fiddle faddle with themes and aesthetics. It’s a while since I have issued a blog challenge so here it is. Do what I have done and redecorate your blog. To be honest, I do not do it very often but when I do it always gives a fresh look and approach. If your blog is new, let it settle in first before you start redecorating and then , perhaps two months down the track, give it a new look. People like familiarity but they also welcome change if it is not too often. Sometimes I have redecorated because my blog is taking on a new emphasis. Sometimes I have redecorated to give it an updated look. Able was supposed to be the updated version of my theme. It’s ostensibly different. The two sidebars are no longer together. There is no bevelled look which I quite liked and the white background does improve the readability on tablets. When you redecorate think of tablets because a lot of people are using them to look at blogs. That means your pictures should be no bigger than 400 pixels square and preferably 300. This blog displays well on a tablet. I used the custom colours to get a more distinctive look and the new theme allows me to add a header image. The image must be 1280 x 360 and so similar to the Facebook look which many are used to. I used an image programme to stitch 4 pictures together. Remember I am no artist. I am always looking for the tools to create credible visual effects. I then used the paint bucket to splash some green on the images as I stitched them together and that is about as artistic as I get. The images are my iPad , a free chip image and then a logo from one of our Australian Business Week stands at school and one of my iMovie screens. They are images which are authentic in this context. Over time I plan to change the side bars but for now I am happy with my effort, my new theme and encourage you to dust off your blog and give it a new look. I look forward to a button which allows me to justify the text. I really hate the ragged edges.

Leave a Reply

