Teaching with iMindMap

I was using iMindMap at school on Snow Leopard and it was fine. I had started to get quite good at it as you can see. Nothing grand but some very useful visual material which appealed to students. We migrated to Lion and have since had difficulty getting the programme to work. I have just downloaded the Basic version onto Windows at home and you can see from the picture left that it is functional and useful. You can add text and images and the advantage is you can move these around the screen, hence whiteboard, which means you can focus on what you are talking about. With more practice I am sure I’d be able to build the mind maps as I talk. It’s a matter of mastering the software. Before the fuss and bother with licensing I was building a Mind Map on the weather. It keeps the vocabulary clear and you can sequence it as you build the mind map to become a little more complex. In the full version you can add sound. The Basic version is free to use but doesn’t have all the features. For me it has enough features to be able to do what I want without becoming too fancy and now that I think of it, it’s probably not such a bad idea to be working on the basics in Basic before I progress. It is software which can confuse people but the videos on the site and on YouTube bring a lot of visual and clearly explained help.

One thought on “Teaching with iMindMap

  1. Pingback: Mind Map –> Great tool | maxferland

Leave a Reply

