Social media really are here…

Social Media Statistics They are not going away. It’s not irrelevant. They are taking the world by storm and social media needs to be utilised by educators and students so they understand how they work and why they are such a powerful avenue of influence and connectedness. The world is running on them and “On average in one year, we will share 415 pieces of content on Facebook, we’ll spend an average of about 23 minutes a day on Twitter, tweeting a total of around 15,795 tweets, we’ll check in 563 times on Foursquare, upload 196 hours of video on YouTube, and send countless emails.” The Social Skinny paints an astoundingly clear picture of just how enormous the social media penetration is world wide.The statistics by country are amazing. We can ignore it or we can educate others in its use. If we choose not to the world will just go ahead and do it without the influence of educators. Look at all of that information and tell me that it will not happen. I’d be lost without my Twitter hashtags. It is how I participate in some interesting discussions, get absolutely current information and keep up to date on professional and global trends. There are some interesting infographics on Jeff Bullas’ site, some valuable information on the Social Networking Watch and some fascinating infographics and clear statistics about social media usage on AnsonAlex.com. The image on this post simply highlights a few of what are now an impressive set of credentials for social media. They are here to stay and if they are good enough for Her Majesty and the President of America then I think we need to realise they are now the norm and schools need to make good use of them and show their students how to get the best out of them as we do with other media.

5 thoughts on “Social media really are here…

  1. Sally, this post inspired me with a new idea. I am going to write about it soon. Great post by all standards as it sheds light on very important facts and trends as well. Thanks for such a concise post
    BTW: I have just read your comment on my presentation Building Engaged Teams on slideshare. I am moved by the comment and shall respond soon

    • Oh good! That is what social networking is about – sharing and generating creativity. I confess I had to work hard at keeping this post under control because the information I was looking at was fascinating but then, for me, there were a lot of implications and possibilities. Glad you liked the comment on the presentation. It really was very good and I’ll come back and post it here because it does have implications for classrooms if you read it with from an education perpective.

  2. I think you’re right as you link social media to education. My last post was based on my reasons for not having Facebook, they have over 900 million users. I think it is safe to say that over half of their users don’t know of their privacy settings! Thanks for this post, really helpful to look at social media – in general. Scary how big it has got, and is getting :)

    • Really appreciate your comment because privacy setting is something I have blogged about too. It is something we do need to teach each other and students and that is the value of social networking – you can get the messages out quickly and issues can be addressed and ideas picked up. I thank you for taking the time to drop by here and remind us again about settings.

Leave a Reply

