I’ve got an iPod Dock

iPod DockOkay, so, for most of you this is not earth shattering news. No big deal. Not for you, but for me, this is another iPod Touch revelation! My daughter was determined to show me the value of an iPod Touch and gave me her old one when she took on her shiny new one. She spent the afternoon with me making sure I could use iTunes, made sure she knew some apps I could find and love and showed me how to get my music on there. Now she has got in early for Mothers’ Day next month and we went shopping for an iPod dock. She was certain I would love it. She was right. Mine is one, neat unit and the sound is amazing. We didn’t spend a lot because it was for my sewing room. It was just going to be there so I had my iPod and radio to listen to as I quilted! I couldn’t believe the clarity and power of the sound, the fact it had an inbuilt radio and the fact I can play my apps with sound as well. That got me thinking! I am a teacher. Everything I touch turns into classroom wizardry. I was thinking an iPod dock would easily replace CD players and old cassette players at a very reasonable cost. They are much neater units and could be stored securely and conveniently. The apps available could be played to my class. Podcasts could be played to my class. This was the 21st century. So then I got to thinking some more. 21st century classrooms should have iPod docks built into desks and areas. So many students and staff have iPod Touches and iPhones. They are ubiquitous and then there could be a tray of iPod Touches for loan which could be distributed as they distribute graphic calculators and the like. Students could play podcasts, use apps for learning, share their creations on an iPod/iPhone across the class and work in small groups to use educational apps and create their own digital learning. They could read e-books. Students are very comfortable with this technology. They are also pleased to be able to use their mobile technology for learning. They have changed. They want in the pocket learning and a dock would facilitate sharing . I love my dock. My classroom would too!

6 thoughts on “I’ve got an iPod Dock

    • Yes new things change our lives but with technology you are right~ we have a chance to use it and shape our own input and worlds.Not like the industrial era where a washing machine was just that…I guess we reshaped it in australia when we used to use it to store drinks and ice for parties in the real heat!

Leave a Reply

